• 17/04/2024

60 seconds with...Lauren Povey

Lauren Povey, receptionist

Lauren Povey, Receptionist at Hightown, gives us an insight into her role and her experience of working in Housing.

How long have you been at Hightown and what’s your background?

I joined Hightown in June 2021. Prior to joining Hightown, I worked in the hotel industry. I used to run a sales office for corporate meetings and events for a big hotel chain in Ascot, quite a commute from Hemel. I was then made redundant during the pandemic whilst I was on maternity leave.

Tell us about your role. What does it entail?

We are the first point of call for residents, so we handle a bit of everything. We take a lot of incoming calls for all departments, we meet and greet everyone that comes to Hightown House in terms of appointments, key collections and contractors.

There’s a lot of variety. The role involves taking deliveries, sorting out the incoming and outgoing post and dealing with correspondence that comes through the website.

What do you enjoy about your job?

I like the team in terms of everyone at Hightown. I think we have a good bunch of people working here and they make my job enjoyable. I also love the variety. I don’t know what my day is going to be like when I come into the office.

I love seeing when new residents come and collect their keys. Some of them are so excited. I remember this lady who had been offered a property and when she came in, she was showing us pictures of her new home. She was so happy and that was nice to see. It’s rewarding to know we’re making a difference to people’s lives.

You have a day off. what would be your ideal way to spend the day?

It would probably be going to the gym first thing, then spending time with my son and husband. My son is obsessed with trains and planes so I guess the easy route would be to go on a train to London and visit the Sealife Centre, go for lunch and treat him to something in the Lego shop.

What are your hobbies?

My hobbies are mostly sports related. I did Sports Studies at university, and I’ve always grown up with sports. I play football every Monday. I’ve played since I was four and I’m a big Spurs fan.

I do spinning classes on a Saturday. I have a personal trainer, so I see him once a week and I go to the gym three to four times a week. I love to travel and have a travel business.